IEEE SmartGridComms ConferenceIEEE



Kamran Sayrafian

National Institute of Standards & Technology, Gaithersburg, MD, USA

Kamran Sayrafian is a Senior Scientist at the Information Technology Laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) located in Gaithersburg, Maryland. He is leading a strategic program related to the application of Pervasive Technology in Healthcare Information Systems. Prior to this, he was the cofounder of Zagros Networks, Inc. a fabless semiconductor company based in Rockville, Maryland where he served as President and senior member of the architecture team. Dr. Sayrafian has been an adjunct faculty of the University of Maryland since 2003. He has served as an invited member of the technical program committee of several international conferences. He has also been the co-chair and organizer of several IEEE ComSoc Conferences and workshops focused on the applications of wireless communication in healthcare. His research interests include medical body area networks, mobile sensor networks and RF-based indoor positioning. He has published over 100 conference and journal papers, and book chapters in these areas. He was the recipient of the IEEE PIMRC 2009 & SENSORCOMM 2011 best paper awards, and has been a Guest Editor for a number of journal special issues focusing on the pervasive healthcare technologies and sensor networks. Dr. Sayrafian is a member of the COST Action IC1004 “Cooperative Radio Communications for Green Smart Environments; and, his research results have been included in the final report of the COST Action 2100 (Pervasive Mobile and Ambient Wireless Communications), which was published by Springer in January 2012. He was also a contributing member and the co-editor of the channel modeling document of the IEEE802.15.6 international standardization on body area networks. He is the co-inventor/inventor of four U.S. patents. Dr. Sayrafian holds Ph.D., M.S. and B.S. degrees in Electrical & Computer Engineering from University of Maryland, Villanova University and Sharif University of Technology, respectively, and he is a senior member of IEEE.

Sennur Ulukus

University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA

Sennur Ulukus is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Maryland at College Park, where she also holds a joint appointment with the Institute for Systems Research (ISR). Prior to joining UMD, she was a Senior Technical Staff Member at AT&T Labs-Research. She received her Ph.D. degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Wireless Information Network Laboratory (WINLAB), Rutgers University, and B.S. and M.S. degrees in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Bilkent University. Her research interests are in wireless communication theory and networking, network information theory for wireless communications, signal processing for wireless communications, information theoretic physical layer security, and energy harvesting communications.
Dr. Ulukus received the 2003 IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications, an 2005 NSF CAREER Award, the 2010-2011 ISR Outstanding Systems Engineering Faculty Award, and the 2012 George Corcoran Education Award. She served as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory (2007-2010) and IEEE Transactions on Communications (2003-2007). She served as a Guest Editor for the Journal of Communications and Networks for the special issue on energy harvesting in wireless networks (2012), IEEE Transactions on Information Theory for the special issue on interference networks (2011), IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications for the special issue onmultiuser detection for advanced communication systems and networks (2008). She served as the TPC co-chair of the Communication Theory Symposium at 2014 IEEE Globecom, Communication Theory Symposium at 2013 IEEE ICC, Physical-Layer Security Workshop at 2011 IEEE Globecom, Physical-Layer Security Workshop at 2011 IEEE ICC, 2011 Communication Theory Workshop (IEEE CTW), Wireless Communications Symposium at 2010 IEEE ICC, Medium Access Control Track at 2008 IEEE WCNC, and Communication Theory Symposium at 2007 IEEE Globecom. She was the Secretary of the IEEE Communication Theory Technical Committee (CTTC) in 2007-2009.






home   about   committee   call for papers   submission   registration   program   hotel&travel   nondiscrimination policy             © 2013 IEEE Communications Society

Register now